Advisory Board

James Marshall, PhD

Advisory Board Member

Dr. Marshall joined the faculty of Roswell Park Cancer Institute (RPCI) in 2002 as Senior Vice President for Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences, and Chairman of the Department of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences.

He is a member of a number of professional organizations, including the American Assoc. for Cancer Research, the American Epidemiologic Society, the American Society of Preventive Oncology, American Society for Clinical Oncology and the Society for Epidemiologic Research.

Thomas Yale Hobart Jr.

Advisory Board Member

Tom Hobart has been president of New York State United Teachers since its inception in 1972. Since then the organization has grown from 100,000 to 500,000. Mr. Hobart also serves as Vice President and a member of the Executive Committee of both the American Federation of Teachers and the New York State AFL- CIO. He co chaired a 1991 Committee on School to Work Transition which produced the report, “Education That Works: Creating Career Pathways For NY State Youths”.

Hobart has been vice chair for both the New York State Employment and Training council and the Job Training and Partnership council. He co founded the New York State Labor Religion Coalition and served as an international observer in elections held in Nicaragua, South Africa and Chile and has represented the labor movement in more than 40 nations. He serves on the Board of Governors of the United Way of America and formerly was chair of the United Way of New York State. Hobart is a former member of the National Education Association Board of Directors. In 1998 Homework Central, the largest academic research site on the Internet, named Mr. Hobart as one of the 100 most influential people in United States public education.

Stan Schwartz MD, PhD

Advisory Board Member

Dr. Schwartz is the Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Micro-biology & Immunology and Division Chief of Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology at the State University of New York at Buffalo.

His research expertise is in the fields of Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology: Pathogenesis of HIV Encephalopathy and the role of angiogenesis in cancer mechanisms of airway remodel-ing in Asthma.

He has numerous publications and prestigious awards to his credit, including the Meller Award for Outstanding Research from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

Gene D. Morse, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS

Advisory Board Member

Dr. Gene D. Morse is a tenured, SUNY Distinguished Professor in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and Associate Director of the Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences at the University at Buffalo. He is Director of the Translational Pharmacology Research Core (TPRC) and Co-Director of the SUNY Global Health Institute.

He has been actively involved in drug development research since the introduction of antiretrovirals for HIV in 1986. The TPRC program conducts innovative research and fosters collaborations in new areas of HIV and hepatitis C virus drug development and therapeutics implementation research including pre-clinical evaluation, phase I, II, and III FDA trials, ongoing post-approval Phase IV research, nanomedicine, health information technology, and medication management. The TPRC is an internationally recognized leader in antiviral pharmacology and has an expanding global health program. UB’s HIV and HCV Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory conducts innovative HIV and HCV clinical and translational research; investigates novel biomatrices and compartments for the measurement of antiviral activity; integrates pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics with human and viral genomics and proteomics to facilitate and accelerate drug development research; and, promotes capacity building to train translational scientists and build global research infrastructure for antivirals and associated co-infections.